Choosing Ease

Choosing Ease

I’ve been thinking a lot about ease. Not in trying to make things easy or take the easy way out (I can do hard things!), but more about not pursuing things that are not flowing smoothly, or with ease.  

I really want to run on my treadmill again after having major abdominal surgery in September. (I ran six days a week for just over six months until the day before my surgery.)  When I tried for two days at the beginning of January, I could do it, but it did not feel great physically during or afterwards.  As I was thinking about continuing to try, I also thought to myself, “Maybe the right thing is to let this go right now.”  That’s what I did, and, even though it’s something I really, really want, it felt like a huge weight lifted off me to say I am going to let this go right now and I will try again soon.  The beginning of January was clearly not the right time and realizing that and acting accordingly is kind of ease I am thinking of.

Last night, I was parking at my condo building and the spot I wanted was a bit too tight because of the way a neighbor had parked in the next space.  As I was trying to park, “This is not ease” popped into my mind, and I immediately reversed my car and parked in a space a little farther away.  It was not what I wanted, but it was better suited for me and the right thing.  

This is the kind of ease I’m trying to embrace more of.

If it takes too much to make it happen – and it does not need to happen – then maybe letting it go and embracing a different way is what makes the most sense in this moment.  And this moment is not forever, so there’s some trust, and faith, involved with choosing ease too.  

Art by my friend – and fellow Certified Dare to Lead™ Facilitator – Lisa Pepper-Satkin

Leave a comment