Holding On Too Long

Holding On Too Long

 “I think the most reliable way to take a good thing and make it go bad is to hold onto it too long. So you’ve got to let it go.” (Louis C.K.)

 

I think about this a lot – not this exact quote, but this idea.  I think about how hard it is to leave something you love.  I think about how scary it is to give up something that means a lot to you.  And mostly I think about how it requires tremendous strength and a grounding of oneself to do it.  In order to leave something, you have to have faith that something else awesome is waiting for you.  You have to believe you’ll love something else as much as you love this.  You have to know you’ll be okay without this.

 

It is hard.  I think because when we are wrapped up in love and joy for a place, a person, an experience or an entity, we can’t imagine anything being as good, but later when we think about it and look back on things, we see that so many other things were as good.  Or can be as good.

 

But, still, it takes strength to make a big change.

 

I collect a lot of thoughts on this idea:

 

“In my heart, I know it is time for someone else to have that opportunity.” (Jon Stewart)

 

“You cannot depend on people to let you know when you need to go to that next level because people love you till you leave.  When you’re walking upstairs, the stair that squeaks is the one you left, and you have to realize that when you’re getting ready to move on, you get the most noise and the most turbulence from the step you stepped away from, not the step you stepped toward.” (Bishop T.D. Jakes)

 

“Am I really doing what I want to do today because I want to do it or am I doing it because it’s what I was doing yesterday?” (Dr. Phil McGraw)

 

“I also think it’s possible to be called away from things I have been called to in the past.  I’ve been powerfully called to some things and just as powerfully been called away from them. There are goodbyes and hellos in our callings.” (Barbara Brown Taylor)

 

“I had come to the point where I had grown as much as I could grow in that space, and I could feel the energy of my life pulling me in another direction.  That’s how you know when it’s time to move: you can feel the energy of your life pulling you in a different direction.” (Oprah Winfrey)

 

These words do not necessarily make the idea of walking away something any less unsettling, but I think they help create perspective – and I know for sure they help empower me.  These thoughts also help to center me in this intention, despite how hard it may be: I don’t ever want to be the one holding on too long and turning a good thing into a bad.

 

IMG_4487

 

2 thoughts on “Holding On Too Long

  1. I have seen you as you worked through one major change, and the change was good for you. Remaining in the status quo would have continued to depress and frustrate you. I do not know if that former environment misses you or realizes how good it was when you were a part of them. I don’t know if they would ever admit missing you. That is their problem. I’m glad you haven’t made it yours.

    If our major hesitation when we think of change is questioning if we will be remembered for the good we did in that situation, are we just dealing with ego? If our hesitation comes from questioning if the change will cause what we’re leaving to weaken in any way, is that just ego? If our desire for change is to go other places and help create something good, is that ego? When is ego good, and when is it not?

    We cannot be right all of the time. There are changes that we make that end up being wrong decisions. However, the more quickly we overcome our depression at that realization, the more quickly we can find some other positive way to contribute our time and energy. Life’s adventure should never seem stale. Either affect change where you are or move on and create a different journey.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

